My last serious Camino training stroll

With the departure date for my camino 10 days away, Sunday was going to be my last serious training hike and after the previous weekend’s 6 hour mountain hike on Sunday and 40 kilometer coastal hike on the May Bank holiday Monday I wanted to finish my hard training on a big note so after some consideration I decided on a longer version of my coastal hike of 6 days earlier.

By starting in Bray rather than Greystones the distance would go up to 16.52 miles to Wicklow town before having a nice carvery lunch in the Leitrim Lounge and then returning back to Bray for a total hike distance of 33.04 miles ( 53.2  kilometers ).

As with 6 days earlier, the underfoot surface mix would be close to that which I will have on the Camino and my new Meindl Meran hiking boots would be further broken in.

My short journey out to Bray was accompanied by steady drizzle and dark cloudy skies and even as I laced up my boots the drizzle continued but with less cloudy skies visible to the south I chanced not putting on my rain gear as the steady climb in the first mile should keep me warm and gloves and a fleece cap would hopefully provide enough protection.

image

A brisk pace on the uphill Bray Head path soon saw me feeling nicely warm and the promenade in Bray was soon a receding view behind me.

image

The railway line from Dublin to Rosslare passes precariously along the coastal edge of Bray Head and due to erosion has had to be rerouted on a couple of occasions.

image

image

By the time I started the gradual descent towards Greystones the steady drizzle had ceased although throughout the remainder of the stretch to Wicklow, the hills around Newtownmountkennedy and Ashford remained shrouded in cloud.

image

As you proceed down the coast, a little known memorial marks the point where the first telegraph cable across the Irish Sea was brought ashore.

Finally after 4 hours and 31 minutes I reached Wicklow town and gratefully eased off my backpack and entered the Leitrim Lounge and with a healthy appetite built up enjoyed a very nice roast beef lunch.

image

However all good things come to an end so after a coffee to nicely finish the meal, boots were laced up again and soon I was on the Murrough heading north on my 16.5 mile return trip to Bray.

image

The fauna along the coastal dune system isn’t the most interesting visually but at least some buttercups and cowslips provided some welcome bursts of colour.

image

image

Someone with a little spare time on their hands had taken the time to make a little wooden sculpture or is it possible that washed up wood came to rest in such a visually pleasing arrangement?

image

Even though I’d been fortunate to have avoided the rain other than at the very start of my hike a brief rain shower near Killoughter afforded me the opportunity of a nice shot of a rainbow over the sea.

image

As I neared Kilcoole, the annual nesting season of the small tern was obviously nearing as the usual stretch of the beach where they nest had been cordoned off.

image

Last year, high tides backed by strong onshore winds had resulted in both nestings being washed away so hopefully this year will be more successful.

Finally after 4 hours 43 minutes I arrived back at the promenade in Bray and was more than a little relieved to ease off my backpack and boots and reflect with quiet satisfaction on a tiring, but useful in terms of my Camino preparation, hike of 33.04 miles ( 53.2 kilometers ) in a total walking time of 9 hours 14 minutes.

Of course no matter how well you feel you’ve performed, there’s always another level to aspire to as that legend of Irish hill walking circles Tom Milligan mentioned to me as he used this self same walk when preparing for extreme length hiking events but in Tom’s case he’d walk from his house in Mount Merrion to Bray, then do the same hike as mine and walk home from Bray, a round trip of 52 miles which he’d routinely cover in a little under 13 hours 30 minutes.

My wind down between now and my departure for St. Jean Pied de Port will comprise 2 easy gym sessions this week with an extra emphasis on my stretching routine, a visit to my podiatrist on Wednesday to have a couple of small corns on my left foot excised and a deep tissue massage 2 days before departing.

Next weekend will see me do an easy hike on Sunday and a final decision on whether to include some small optional items in my final packing list before subjecting myself to the Ryanair cabin baggage size check in Dublin Airport.

6 thoughts on “My last serious Camino training stroll

  1. Thanks for sharing this journey with us, Seamus. We can feel your excitement and anticipation at the memorable days ahead when you’ll be experiencing and savouring the delights of the Camino. Now that’s living!

  2. I wish that my training hikes were as visually pleasing as yours!!! Mine make the Meseta portion of the Camino (I’m told) look verdant in comparison..You’ll be on the Camino the same time as my husband. He starts at St Jean Pied de Port the morning of May 25. (arrives Madrid mid day May 24)

    Buen Camino!

    • Hi K, to be very honest a lot of my training hikes are very boring visually but I’m a little like a good trailer maker in the movie business, no matter how bad a movie is, a good trailer maker can still splice 60 seconds of it together it such a way as to make the sum of the parts far more attractive than the whole movie actually is. ;-).
      I’ll be arriving in St Jean on May 23rd and leaving on 24th so alas I’m unlikely to catch sight of your husband as a tight schedule means I’ll be averaging about 34 kms a day. Hope your hubbie has a great camino and thanks for the kind words.

      Regards

      Seamus

  3. Many thanks Tom for all your encouragement since I joined the Ramblers, at this stage the hardest things is waiting for the last 9 days to pass as the physical training is done and time for the packing is yet to come, I suppose I’ll hit my Spanish language books and CDs for a few days to kill a few of those now empty training hours. 😉

  4. Well done Shea, good timing, you must have kept much the same pace as last week, you should be ‘flyin’ along the Camino after all that! I noticed the Little Terns were around last Thurs but the sign or fencing had’nt gone up at that stage…hopefully they’ll have a bit more luck this year. Anyway enjoy your wind down, talk soon. Rosa

  5. So, Séamus, five years later, what big event are you training for now? There’ll be a Ramblers club (members only) Lug walk on the last weekend of July, if that might be of interest?

Leave a comment